## AHS/RCC Chapter & Yuma County Historical Society Board Minutes

Tuesday, May 25, 2021 – Zoom Meeting

Joint Annual Membership Meeting

## Quorum Present

Present: Bruce GwynnKathi MarcusBetsy GottsponerTom RushinCecilia YoungTrent FerrinLenore StuartLinda MorganPete ThompsonEmilia CortezMary CampbellShara Whitehead

Call to Order at 5:33 p.m.-President, Bruce Gwynn

- 1. Roll Call Bruce Gwynn
- 2. Call to the Public: None
- 3. Approval of May 14, 2019 RCC annual meeting minutes: Kathi Marcus moved to approve as presented Lenore Stuart seconded. Passed unanimously.
- 4. President's Remarks and Presentation of the Bent Spittoon Award: President Gwynn shared that this year's recipient, RCC board member, Betsy Gottsponer, has taken the lead consistently for many years to produce almost singlehandedly, Dining with the Dead with honorable results.
- 5. Rio Colorado Chapter by Yanna Kruse, AHS VP of Guest Experience and Historic Sites Yanna recapped highlights and agreed that this past year "challenges brought innovation".
- 6. Financial Report and Gift Shop Update YCHS Treasurer, Kathi Marcus read bank balances and Described the activities of Redondo Online Auction, Garden and newly rebranded Gift Shop.
- 7. Special Presentation YCHS Board Member, Mary Campbell, gave compelling reflection on the "Open Air Ag Museum" with the area once completed being used for amphitheater, special events, using modern ways to take the displays into dreams for the future. Redondo Dinner and Auction has been the sole fundraiser to support this important project to shine the light on agricultural history in the Yuma region.
- 8. RCC and YCHS Board Slate of Nominees and elections

a) 2020 AHS-Rio Colorado Chapter Board slate of nominees and election of members - Linda Morgan, Lenore Stuart, Tom Rushin, Betsy Gottsponer, Peter Thompson – motion to approve, Kathi Marcus, seconded by Linda Morgan, passed unanimously.

b) 2021 AHS-Rio Colorado Chapter Board slate of nominees and election of Cecilia Young, Bruce Gwynn, Dr. Linda Elliott-Nelson - motion to approve, Lenore Stuart, seconded by Trent Ferrin, passed unanimously.

a) 2020 Yuma County Historical Society Board slate of nominees and election of members – Bruce Gwynn, Tiffany Ott, Gowan Deckey, motion to approve by Donna Johnson, seconded by Shara Whitehead and passed unanimously.

b) 2021 Yuma County Historical Society Board slate of nominees and election of members – Anita Maude, Mike Pancrazi, Rachel Stallworth, motion to approve by Bruce Gwynn, seconded by Mary Campbell and passed unanimously.

- 9. Dark for the Summer announced by RCC President, Bruce Gwynn.
- Adjournment

Respectfully submitted, Shara Whitehead member