DRAFT

Minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting of the Arizona Historical Society

-September 29, 2023-

Call to Order

2:45 PM by AHS Board President Linda Whitaker

Welcome

Arizona Historical Society Executive Director, Dr. David Breeckner, welcomed AHS and AHS State Board members to the annual meeting. Extending immense gratitude to this year's sponsors for their outstanding support and contributions to the Annual Meeting.

AHS State Board President, Linda Whitaker, welcomed all AHS and AHS State Board members attending in-person and virtually via Zoom Webinar, then gave a brief opening statement highlighting the unique obstacles overcome by AHS over the last year. Linda thanked the AHS State Board members and AHS staff for being active participants through her last two terms. She also reminded the State Board member and AHS Staff of the outstanding work that was done and to stay determined to finish the work.

Linda ended her welcome address with a hopeful message of survival.

David Breeckner added his optimism for what is ahead, noting that the accomplishments of AHS through the last year were not an easy feat. This momentum helps to push AHS forward in the coming years.

Linda Whitaker called for a vote to approve the 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes. By a show of hands and participation in a virtual poll, the 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes were approved unanimously by all eligible members in attendance.

Election of Arizona State Board Members

At-Large Board Member, Robert Ballard, presented the slate of candidates for four AHS State Board positions:

Linda Elliot-Nelson- President, *running uncontested* DeNise Bauer- Vice President, *running uncontested No Candidate*- Treasurer Deborah Bateman- Secretary, *running uncontested*

Nominating a candidate for the role of Treasurer was put to the floor of State Board members and AHS members. The nominated individual is allowed to decline the nomination. Linda Elliott -Nelson nominated Linda Whitaker. Linda Whitaker accepted the nomination. No additional nominations came from the floor. Members eligible to vote were instructed to write in Linda Whitaker or another individual's name on the ballot under the role of Treasurer.

Eligible voters exercised their voting privilege with an in-person or virtual ballot. The ballots were collected by AHS staff. The votes were counted while the Annual Meeting commenced. Results were announced after the featured presentation.

Executive Director's Annual Report

Dr. David Breeckner presented the AHS Annual Report and introduced new staff.

 2022 Annual Report available to view on the Arizona Historical Society website.

Sonnichsen Award- Present by Dr. David Turpie, AHS Vice President of Publications

- Dr. Turpie recognized Dr. William F. Stoutamire for his article, which appeared in the Summer 2022 "Archaeology, and the Creation of the Museum of Northern Arizona." Dr. Stoutamire is now an assistant professor of history at the University of Nebraska, at Carney. He was not able to join us here today. He's actually at a history conference in Texas. He wanted to be here, so he sent in a short acceptance speech to AHS.
- Dr. Stoutamire's acceptance speech was played for the member in attendance and on Zoom.

2023 Al Merito Awards- Presented by AHS Outreach Committee Member, Sherry Rampy

 Sherry Rampy announced the groups a/o individuals as the recipients of the 2023 Al Merito Award. This is also the 50th anniversary of the Al Merito award presentations. Al Merito Awardees from past presentation in attendance were recognized.

2023 Al Merito Awardees

- Navajo County Historical Society
- Frank Barrios
- Dr. Michael M. Brescia
- Arizona Barrios Stories

Featured Presentation- Dr. Eduardo Obregón Pagán, ASU

"Georgie Clifford and the Dark Underside of the Old West"

Announcement of 2023- 2024 Elected State Board Members- Presented by At-large Member, Robert Ballard

The results of the State Board election are as follows:

Linda Elliott-Nelson- President DeNise Bauer- Vice President Linda Whitaker- Treasurer Deborah Bateman- Secretary

Closing and Thank You

Executive Director Dr. David Breeckner extended his gratitude to the attendees and invited everyone to the events scheduled immediately after the adjournment.

Adjournment

4:55 PM by AHS State Board President, Linda Whitaker,

Londa A. Whitakee

September 29, 2023,

Linda Whitaker, Board President