About the Al Merito Award

The Arizona Historical Society established the Al Merito Award in 1973 to recognize individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions and serve as role models for preserving Arizona’s rich history. This honor acknowledges meritorious service for those who preserve and celebrate Arizona history. Following a review of all nominations, the AHS Board of Directors selects one individual and one organization/group to receive the Al Merito Award annually.

Al Merito nominations are closed for 2023.


Congratulations to the 2022 Al Merito Recipients!

Arizona Contractor & Community Magazine From left to right, Publisher Billy Horner, Production Manager Laura Horner, and Editor Douglas Towne 

Cindy Hayostek

Bruce Dinges










Arizona Historical Society