The Patagonia Grammar School was designed, located, and built in 1914 by Nogales architect, O. J. Omstead. This handsome building served the children of the area from 1914 to 2014, making it the longest continuously utilized elementary school facility in Arizona. Following a period of restoration, the building reopened to the public in January 2016 as the home of the Patagonia Museum. The former school with its 14-foot ceilings and 4,200 square feet of floor space is filled with an evolving series of exhibits, photographs, and displays that highlight the rich history and culture of eastern Santa Cruz County.
Marianna Touloumes May 23rd, 2022